Boston Opera House program collection
The collection consists of thirteen programs from 1919 to 1950 from the Boston Opera House covering such opera companies as the Metropolitan Opera, the Gilbert and Sullivan Opera Company, and Boston Grand Opera. The collection is unprocessed. The Boston Opera House was the local citadel for lyrical drama for nearly 50 years. Eben D. Jordan, President of the Boston Opera Company, set the granite cornerstone of Boston's home for grand opera on November 30, 1908. The Boston Opera House opened on the night of November 8, 1909. Henry Russell ran the Boston Opera Company until the outbreak of the first World War.There was an opera-less interim from March, 1914 to November 15, 1915, when Max Rubinoff's new Boston Grand Opera Company began. For years the Boston Opera House was the local showcase of companies on tour, most notably New York's Metropolitan Opera, the Chicago Opera Company, and the Chicago Civic Opera. In September of 1957 the building's foundations and steelwork were found to be in poor condition, the landmark was sold to the S. & A. Allen Construction Company of Charlestown for $135,000. Allen then transferred the structure to President Carl S. Ell of Northeastern on September 25, 1957, for $160,000. The Bernard L. Baker Wrecking Company began razing the BOH in early 1958, and by mid-summer the building had been demolished. Accessioned 2016 Jun 02. Add to M33. 45/4
Requests for permission to publish material from this collection should be discussed with the University Archivist.
0.03 cubic feet (0.03 cubic feet in 1 legal-sized half-manuscript box.)