Skip to main content

Administrative Committee of the Basic Colleges records

Identifier: A093


The Administrative Committee of the Basic Colleges comprised of the deans of the Basic Colleges of Northeastern University and met regularly to discuss issues pertaining to the administration and daily running of the colleges. The four original Basic Colleges were the College of Business Administration, the College of Engineering, the College of Liberal Arts, and the School of Law. In response to the academic community's demand for increased specialization, the number of colleges at Northeastern University was increased. The new schools included the College of Education (1953), University College (1960), the College of Pharmacy (1962), the School of Nursing (1964), Boston-Bouvé College (1964), the College of Criminal Justice (1967), and the College of Computer Science (1982). The Administrative Committee of the Basic Colleges expanded accordingly as the deans of the new Colleges were invited onto the Committee. They also worked to centralize faculty administration and keep the faculty fully informed of current issues on campus. Issues discussed at meetings included class schedules, sabbaticals, and student activities on campus.


  • 1962-1971


Conditions Governing Access:

The collection is unrestricted.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:

Requests for permission to publish material from this collection should be discussed with the University Archivist.


0.35 cubic feet (1 container)



System of Arrangement:


Physical Location

Finding aid for the Administrative Committee of the Basic Colleges Records
Finding aid prepared by Hanna Clutterbuck
April 2006
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script
Language of description note
Description is in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Northeastern University Archives and Special Collections Repository

92 Snell Library
Northeastern University
360 Huntington Avenue
Boston MA 02115 US